For fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Rita Williams-Garcia, Jenn Bishop’s heartwarming debut is a celebration of sisterhood and summertime, and of finding the courage to get back in the game.

Cover-Reveal-The-Distance-To-Home-LargeLast summer, Quinnen was the star pitcher of her baseball team, the Panthers. They were headed for the championship, and her loudest supporter at every game was her best friend and older sister, Haley.

This summer, everything is different. Haley’s death, at the end of last summer, has left Quinnen and her parents reeling. Without Haley in the stands, Quinnen doesn’t want to play baseball. It seems like nothing can fill the Haley-sized hole in her world. The one glimmer of happiness comes from the Bandits, the local minor-league baseball team. For the first time, Quinnen and her family are hosting one of the players for the season. Without Haley, Quinnen’s not sure it will be any fun, but soon she befriends a few players. With their help, can she make peace with the past and return to the pitcher’s mound?

Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers / Penguin Random House

cover illustration by Erin McGuire

ISBN: 978-1-101-93871-3 (trade)

978-1-101-93872-0 (lib. bdg.)

978-1-101-93873-7 (ebook)

Available from Amazon, Books-A-Million, Barnes & NobleIndieBound, Penguin Random House, Powell’sWalmart and wherever books are sold.

Add to Goodreads.

What are people saying about The Distance To Home?

Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 4.03.41 PM

A Junior Library Guild Selection

An Amazon.com Editor’s Pick for July

A School Library Journal Popular Pick

“Jenn Bishop rips the seams off this grand slammer of connections and revelations. At last, the sports story is back!” – Rita Williams-Garcia, author of Newbery Honor winner One Crazy Summer

“In a piercing first novel, Bishop introduces a family grappling with devastating loss . . . Bishop insightfully examines the tested relationships among grieving family members and friends in a story of resilience, forgiveness, and hope.” – Publishers Weekly [full review]

 ” . . . Readers will find themselves moved by the protagonist’s journey toward “home.” Recommend this poignant novel to fans of Keeping Score by Linda Sue Park and The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin.” – School Library Journal [full review]

“Bishop’s vivid writing and compassionate touch bring the characters to life, and a handy glossary of baseball terms will help readers less familiar with the sport. A sensitive, well-wrought novel perfect for both sports lovers and fans of character-driven stories.” – Booklist [full review]

“With appeal to both sports- and drama-minded girls, this will make a good book club selection and pass-it-among-your-friends read.” – Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, Recommended [full review]

“The life-and-death themes are thought-provoking, but readers may love the book even more for its many digressions.” – Kirkus [full review]