Press Kit

General Bio (100 words)

Jenn Bishop is the author of the middle grade novels Things You Can’t Say, 14 Hollow Road, and The Distance to Home, which was a Junior Library Guild selection and a Bank Street College Best Children’s Book. She grew up in New England, where she fell in love with the ocean, Del’s frozen lemonade, and the Red Sox before escaping to college at the University of Chicago. After working as a teen and children’s librarian, she received her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Jenn currently calls Cincinnati, OH, home.

Short Bio (50 words)

Jenn Bishop is a former youth services and teen librarian. She is a graduate of the University of Chicago and Vermont College of Fine Arts, where she received her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults. Though she now lives in Cincinnati, she still roots for the Red Sox.

Things You Can't Say

Perfect for fans of See You in the Cosmos and Where the Watermelons Grow, author Jenn Bishop’s latest novel tells the moving story of a boy determined to uncover the truth.

Nothing is going right this summer for Drew. And after losing his dad unexpectedly three years ago, Drew knows a lot about things not going right. First it’s the new girl Audrey taking over everything at the library, Drew’s sacred space. Then it’s his best friend, Filipe, pulling away from him. But most upsetting has to be the mysterious man who is suddenly staying with Drew’s family. An old friend of Mom’s? Drew isn’t buying that.

With an unlikely ally in Audrey, he’s determined to get to the bottom of who this man really is. The thing is, there are some fears—like what if the person you thought was your dad actually wasn’t—that you can’t speak out loud, not to anyone. At least that’s what Drew thinks.

But then again, first impressions can be deceiving.

Publisher: Aladdin / Simon & Schuster
Cover illustration: Julie McLaughlin
Genre: middle grade contemporary
Release date: March 3, 2020
Page count: 336
Age category: grades 3-7

ISBN:
978-1-534-44097-5 (trade hardcover)
978-1-534-4409-9 (ebook)

Reviews, Blurbs, & Accolades

“As Things You Can’t Say shows the gaping fissures that loss and grief can cause in a kiddo’s life, so too does it show how those same fissures may begin to heal and close. That we are rooting so hard for their closing in Andrew’s life is a measure of how wonderfully real and honest this story is, and of how deep our need is for just the right words.” —Gary D. Schmidt, Newbery Honor winner and National Book Award Finalist

“With grit and authenticity, Bishop takes us inside the head and heart of a young boy. Be prepared to laugh, cry, cheer, and turn the last page with a satisfying sigh.” —Barbara O’Connor, author of Wonderland

“This touching, authentic novel will open readers’ eyes and hearts about mental health issues in loving, ‘normal’ families. Jenn Bishop explores a challenging subject with sensitivity and grace.” —Barbara Dee, author of Maybe He Just Likes You

“People who go away forever. People who come out of nowhere. People who drift away and then drift back. Three years after the death of his father, young Drew finds a way to make peace with all these sorts of people. An emotional tale of a boy who finds it takes equal measures of courage to move forward and to look back.” —Paul Mosier, author of Echo’s Sister

14 Hollow Road

The night of the sixth-grade dance is supposed to be perfect for Maddie; she’ll wear her beautiful new dress, she’ll hit the dance floor with her friends, and her crush, Avery, will ask her to dance. Most importantly, she’ll finally leave her tiny elementary school behind for junior high. But as the first slow song starts to play, her plans crumble. Avery asks someone else to dance instead–and then the power goes out. Huddled in the gym, Maddie and her friends are stunned to hear that a tornado has ripped through the other side of town, destroying both Maddie’s and Avery’s homes.

Kind neighbors open up their home to Maddie’s and Avery’s families, which both excites and horrifies Maddie. Sharing the same house . . . with Avery? For the entire summer? While it buys her some time to prove that Avery made the wrong choice at the dance, it also means he’ll be there to witness her morning breath and her annoying little brother. Meanwhile, she must search for her beloved dog, who went missing during the tornado. At the dance, all she wanted was to be more grown-up. Now that she has no choice, is she ready for it?

Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf / Random House
Cover illustration: Erin McGuire
Genre: middle grade contemporary
Release date: June 13, 2017
Page count: 288
Age category: grades 4-7

ISBN:
978-1- 101-93875-1 (trade hardcover)
978-1-101-93876-8 (library binding)
978-1-101-93877-5 (ebook)

Reviews, Blurbs, & Accolades

“Bishop (The Distance to Home, 2016) nails the tween voice: Maddie is a realistic heroine who deals with typical middle-grade problems amidst disaster, and she navigates upheavals with occasional grace and more frequent missteps. Tornado or not, growing up is a tempestuous business.”  – Booklist [full review]

“Maddie remains sympathetic and likable even when her actions aren’t, and Kiersten, Gabby, and Avery are well-rounded characters with challenges of their own. Readers going through the messy transition into adolescence will find hope in the newly strengthened friendships with which Maddie enters seventh grade.” –  Recommended, Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books [full review]

“Maddie’s awkward avoidance tactics are authentic and relatable . . . The hopeful tone and conversational writing style make this an accessible read.” – School Library Journal

“This gorgeous summer tale emphasizes girlhood bonds, growth in discomfort and the inevitable heartache that goes with youthful dreams meeting hard reality. This will hit the spot with fans of The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall , Summer of the Gypsy Moths by Sara Pennypacker, Water Balloon by Audrey Vernick and Gertie’s Leap to Greatness by Kate Beasley.”     -Erin E. Moulton, author of Chasing the Milky Way

“I know so many young readers who will see themselves in this book and fall into the pages.” – Mrs. Knott’s Book Nook [full review]

A 2018 Kansas NEA Reading Circle Recommended Title

THE DISTANCE TO HOME


Last summer, Quinnen was the star pitcher of her baseball team, the Panthers. They were headed for the championship, and her loudest supporter at every game was her best friend and older sister, Haley.

This summer, everything is different. Haley’s death, at the end of last summer, has left Quinnen and her parents reeling. Without Haley in the stands, Quinnen doesn’t want to play baseball. It seems like nothing can fill the Haley-sized hole in her world. The one glimmer of happiness comes from the Bandits, the local minor-league baseball team. For the first time, Quinnen and her family are hosting one of the players for the season. Without Haley, Quinnen’s not sure it will be any fun, but soon she befriends a few players. With their help, can she make peace with the past and return to the pitcher’s mound?

Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf / Random House
Cover illustration: Erin McGuire
Genre: middle grade contemporary
Release date: June 28, 2016
Page count: 240
Age category: grades 3-7

ISBN:
978-1-101-93871-3 (trade hardcover)
978-1-101-93872-0 (library binding)
978-1-101-93873-7 (ebook)
978-1-101-93874-4 (paperback)

Reviews, Blurbs, & Accolades

”  . . . Readers will find themselves moved by the protagonist’s journey toward “home.” Recommend this poignant novel to fans of Keeping Score by Linda Sue Park and The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin”. – School Library Journal [full review]

“In a piercing first novel, Bishop introduces a family grappling with devastating loss . . . Bishop insightfully examines the tested relationships among grieving family members and friends in a story of resilience, forgiveness, and hope.” – Publishers Weekly [full review]

“Quinnen’s emotions are raw and convincing, and her rapport with friends and parents is realistically muddled by half-processed grief that she tries too hard to handle on her own. The supporting cast is credible, with parents who have limitless love for their remaining daughter, and Quinnen’s sixth-grade guy buddy who is sensitive to her heartache but is still a sixth-grade guy buddy. Even Brandon is a better man than Quinnen was first willing to believe. With appeal to both sports- and drama-minded girls, this will make a good book club selection and pass-it-among-your-friends read.” – Bulletin for the Center of Children’s Books

“Jenn Bishop rips the seams off this grand slammer of connections and revelations. At last, the sports story is back!” – Rita Williams-Garcia, author of Newbery Honor winner One Crazy Summer

A Junior Library Guild Selection

A Bank Street College Best Book (2017)

A 2018-2019 Iowa Children’s Choice Award Finalist

Photos

These hi-res photos are free to download.

Photo credit: Kate L Photography